Skip to content

Weaving scarves

February 19, 2009

I used to weave scarves for sale.  Mostly silk, but also combinations of wonderful natural fibres.   I noticed one day how many bits and pieces of left-over colours I had  on spools and bobbins.   How to use it?   I  decided to just begin winding a warp of many colours.    I kept my choices very simple,  only winding multiples of  four ends per colour.   I chose colours randomly as I wound,  basing my choices on how much of a colour I had  and how the  entire warp was looking as the winding  progressed.   I threaded a two block eight shaft twill using the  warp colour order for a threading guide.  In the sample shown I changed at each colour change, sometimes I let the block order change within a colour as well.    For weaving I used various colours or black, either weaving the scarf with all one colour weft or two or three colours randomly changing.  I treadled blocks randomly as I wove and no two scarves were alike.    The scarves were very successful – I don’t have any left and never kept one for myself!  But I do have samples.

twill-scarfWarp & Weft – 30/2 Silk

Sett and woven at 32 epi/ppi

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 9:00 pm

    Brilliant. Thinking outside the box, using bits and pieces. Looks planned. It’s exciting and it’s lovely.

    Like

  2. evelynoldroyd permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:15 am

    glad you like it! ELO

    Like

  3. Rachel permalink
    February 25, 2009 4:39 pm

    I’m not one for bright colors in weaving, but the way these colors fall on each other is perfect. I appreciate the improvisational style with which these were woven, it shows a real use of weaving as a medium.

    Like

    • evelynoldroyd permalink
      February 26, 2009 7:36 am

      Thanks Rachel, it was amazing and fun to see how the colours interacted – like doing a spontaneous colour gamp.

      Like

Leave a Reply

