Skip to content

Swedish Snowflake

February 26, 2009

One of the most beautiful drafts and versatile.  I wove many scarves using this draft from the old Robin and Russ book  (which I don’t have in hand and can’t find the exact title for)  and it was (is) popular with many weavers.  This sample is a basic draft woven as drawn in, a range of colours in the warp from a gold yellow to orange red.    To arrange the warp colours I decided on the width of the scarf, how many ends and how many colours I would use across the warp.   A  progression was something like this and yes the winding took awhile having to pick up one end, four ends, one end, etc.

Colour A    1    1    1   2    3   4  etc.

Colour B   4   3   2   1   1   1

I used as little as 2 colours and of course many more depending on what  I had on hand or if I wanted to dye more colours.  The width of the warp was a factor – wider I used more colours.

The weft choices were many and this shows just four – mauves, reds, oranges.  I  used silk for my scarves, usually 30/2 from either the Silk Tree, or Treenway Silks.    The range of colours available is wonderful, but I also bought natural and dyed my own colours to get just what I wanted.  swedish-star-sampleAnother sample showing a warp from purples to reds and woven with a darker purple.

snowflake-sample-2

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 9:52 am

    The colors in the first picture are especially lovely. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • evelynoldroyd permalink
      February 26, 2009 4:52 pm

      You are welcome. I am enjoying the process of blogging abourt my work and as I weave less these days i get to enjoy it again too!

      Like

  2. February 26, 2009 8:41 pm

    Evelyn,..Your posts show me the importance of sampling.
    Your weaving patterns are complex to me, but encourage me to learn more. I love your colors and how you use them to make your weavings so vibrant. I look forward to your posts. And I thank you also.

    Like

    • evelynoldroyd permalink
      February 28, 2009 5:38 pm

      there is so much to learn! e

      Like

  3. Crystal permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:07 am

    Hi Evelyn – what lovely colors! I am about to start a project, somcething very similar, and I love the visual effects that the gold and scarlet. I’m a bit color-retarded though and will be weaving 6 stoles on one warp (woo boy). Could you suggest some colors to go with that warp that would look nice? Also, I knew I had seen that pattern before – it’s in the book: The Best of Weaver’s: Twill Thrills, page 43. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

