Skip to content

Soumak

March 14, 2009

soumak

soumak-back

Soumak sample for the Guild of Canadian Weavers tests.  Woven on the same warp as the previous sample and  weft of singles swedish rug wool.  I think I was using colours I had on the shelf!    The warp  is finished  differently, starting from the centre and braided at either end.  One of my reference books was “Soumak Workbook”, by Jean Wilson.   To me the surface of  plain soumak looks like knitting across the warp.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

