Skip to content

Rag Placemats

April 22, 2009

I haven’t woven a lot of placemats, but have done  a few using cotton rags.    The colours used were based on   pieces of scrap fabric  given  me  in colours of the final recipients choice and I  bought more to make it go the distance.    

 placemat

I used a warp of mixed cottolin colours randomly sleyed  (sett at 18 eip)and wove about an inch and half with cottolin for hems.    The cottolin hem shrank a little too much, even  with the use of a temple stretcher to make sure it was the same width as the rag section.  But can be pressed out again (if you like ironing!)

The rags are all cotton cut into fairly fine strips of approx. 1/2 -3/4 inch depending on the type of fabric.  I tryed to make sure they were about the same thickness when woven.  The degree they compress is dependent on the hand of the original fabric – a finer cotton will be a small diameter, so I cut that fabric thicker.

I cut all the fabric before hand,  laying them out beside me on a bench so I could chose them as I wove.  I  wove them in  random order,   trying to alternate the lights and darks and trying not to weave the same order over and over. 

These mats are now about 10 years old, well used and going strong.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. deb devo permalink
    April 23, 2009 6:50 am

    These placemats are beautiful! The only question I have is:are the strips cut on the bias? or just the widthwise grain? Does it matter?

    Like

  2. evelynoldroyd permalink
    April 24, 2009 6:24 am

    Deb – the rags are cut with the grain. I am not sure that it matters, but it would be a good experiment! Try both ways to see what the end result would be! Evelyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

