Skip to content

Handwoven Towels

May 15, 2009

weaving samples 004I found this piece in my own box of samples.    I had woven towels as a gift in September of 1985 using a simple Summer & Winter draft from a 1983 Handwoven magazine.

The towels are still in use (perhaps they haven’t been used much?)    I have always wanted to make some for myself.   I used cottolin for the warp and cotton Effecktgarn  from Marks & Kattens, for the weft which give the towels more absorbancy and texture.

The warp was sett and woven at 20 epi /ppi.    Instead of cottolin I might try a natural 6/2 cotton with a textured weft which might make a thicker towel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

