Skip to content

Indigo Fermentation – Day 5

August 2, 2009

indigo and misc 024

There are bubbles!   I now realize that temperature is critical.   I think I had let it cool down too much the first day and then let it get too warm.  I can see why in the video I watched the vats were sunk into what looked like a cement floor – no doubt this keeps a very consistant temperature.     I also talked with Chris Dalziel of Joybilee Farm,  who had tried a fermentation vat using the Madder, soda ash method and this was also her observation.  So far I have used the hit and miss method – perhaps a thermometer would be helpful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

