Skip to content

Indigo Fermentation Day 9

August 7, 2009
tags: ,

Today I decided that there was too much blue sediment on the bottom. I realized it must be un-reduced indigo, so I gave it a good stir, careful not to incorporate air into the mix. So the liquid looks much more blue again, and is still fermenting. I think it must have to be carefully stirred every day to ensure all the indigo is reduced in the process. Maintaining an even temperature of 100F is what I have found from reading of various instructions. But I do know that if it drops a bit, that warming it will bring on the fermentation again.

The smell is horrible, and until I find a place other than my oven it will have to stay inside! I had better find a good place soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

