Skip to content

Woven Shibori draft

August 24, 2009

It feels as though the summer is almost over.   Lots of fruit and veggies have been processed, but I haven’t managed to get the loom warped.  Too many days spent  river floating and swimming I guess, but summer is only here once a year!

I have played around with drafts for my next warp which will be woven shibori. I am taking an old draft called The Earl’s Canvas and a simplified tie-up for treadling the shibori picks. I hope it works.

I am planning  a 30/2 silk warp and weft sett at 32 epi/ppi, for it’s smoothness which will hopefully make pulling the shibori wefts easier especially with this draft.  Any comments welcome on whether or not it will work or ideas on making it better!

earls-canvas-for-shibori

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

