Skip to content

Auto Knitter Obsession

November 27, 2009

I am still working on this Circular Knitting Machine.    After finally getting it apart using some rather smelly engine oil and then cleaning the gunk all off, it still isn’t working.  The cylinder might be slightly warped from poor storage and will not fit into the cam shell properly.  So I have been researching and writing, trying to find someone that might have ideas on how to fix this, if it is indeed fixable.  The long storage and warped cylinder might just mean it needs a new cylinder.  I am working on this project for the Hardy Mountain Doukhobor Village Historic Site where I found this machine stored.  I don’t have the funds to buy parts and hope I can make this piece work in order that the local Boundary Weaver’s and Spinners Guild can  demonstrate the making of socks.   I will also be helping to put up some of the old looms  once the restoration is finished and there is a place to put one up.

The first photo is taken right after I released the cylinder from the shell – what a lot of gunk!

It is getting cleaner!  But there is a long way to go.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2009 3:11 am

    You are a brave woman!! (I am ridiculously bad with mechanical things.)

    Good luck!

    Sue

    Like

  2. November 29, 2009 5:25 am

    I wonder if it is slightly out of round if a good engine machine shop can make it true again?

    Like

  3. November 30, 2009 10:36 am

    You’ve certainly got a very interresting blog, I am glad I discovered it!

    Like

  4. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    November 30, 2009 12:31 pm

    Thanks Charlotte for dropping by! Your weaving is lovely – as is your part of the world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

