Skip to content

Real Stitches!

December 4, 2009

The photo shows the first complete row of knitting – no dropped stitches, no jammed needles.

I have now cranked about 4 ft. of tubing. The machine still needs a little work as it is not running along as smoothly as I think it is supposed to, but I do have it working!  Yesterday morning I was feeling a little dubious about it.   I had lots of help from knitting machine owners on Ravelry – one reminding me about  uplift cams.   I was so sure I had put them in correctly!  But even with a photograph in the manual right in front of me I put them in upside down!  No wonder the needles didn’t go up far enough.   Then I did a lot of reading of various blogs and websites and found a photo that explained what was meant by “timing”.  Learning the lingo is a big part of the process!
I began with half the needles in place on an 80 slot cylinder and cranked about 3 ft. until it was all running smoothly and I had an idea of what to be watching for.   Was the yarn feeding in at the correct angle, how was the yarn tension, was there enough weight  pulling down the knitting and was it evenly distributed and did I have the cam tension set correctly?  There are a lot of little things to watch and keep in mind as one turns.  It looks so easy!  And now it is working it feels quite simple !

I then changed yarn and began adding the remainder of the needles. Of course as I was doing this I realized I ought to be changing only one variable at a time, but both worked and I now have all 80 needles in operation and am using a slightly heavier yarn.

So now it is on to the next step – either learning to do a heel or maybe I will begin with a picot edge.  😉

The loom waits patiently for this obsession to be over.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 6:47 pm

    Yay!! Success!!!

    Good thing looms are so patient!! (Mine are too!)

    Have fun!

    Sue

    Like

  2. December 4, 2009 11:31 pm

    This is so fascinating! I have an ordinary knitting machine, but I have never seen a circular one in real life. And I know how tricky knitting machines can be… You have done a great job to get it working properly, I’m looking forward to see a heel!

    Like

  3. December 5, 2009 5:49 am

    Yippeee! It must feel great to have the old gal working after all that work. From everything I have read or heard they can all be quite fussy, so my hat is off to you for all the patience you’ve had to get to this point. I bet you’ll have a heel and picot edge down in no time.

    Like

  4. December 6, 2009 6:47 am

    I’m really enjoying this adventure – although it does sound like a lot of hard work for an “easier” way to knit… 😉

    Like

  5. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    December 6, 2009 8:46 am

    It has been alot of work for an “easier” way to knit! It is the puzzle of making this thing work more than the making of socks that has kept me going!

    Like

  6. December 6, 2009 12:55 pm

    Wonderful progress, Evelyn! I don’t know about easier way to knit, but definitely faster once you can do the heel and toe. Without rushing, I do a sock in 25 minutes (not counting closing toes by hand). Can’t tell you how many handknitters, visiting on the art tour, left here muttering how they HAD to get a sock machine!

    Now, back to my sock-cranking, working on Christmas orders.

    Like

Leave a Reply

