Skip to content

Heels and hems

December 6, 2009
tags: , ,

I have just completed my first heel. It isn’t perfect, I dropped a stitch and didn’t quite get the sequence correct on one side. An interesting process and was quite easy with help from the youtube videos and the Yellow River Station tutorials.

The correct and consistent weight tension is very important to success.

I did have a problem to begin with to do with the small bolt holding the yarn carrier in place. It was too long! When I was going forward it was fine, but when I tried to go backward all the stitches kept dropping off. I then noticed that the “wave” was ahead of the carrier instead of in line with it. Couldn’t see why this was for awhile and then began to really look and there it was – the bolt was pushing the carriage instead of the High point of the gear ring as it is supposed to. This meant the wave was created about two inches to soon! I inserted a small nut as a spacer and the problem was solved.

I did a picot edge and hung hem yesterday. Not perfect as I was off a stitch in my pickup, but I do have the concept. So now for more practice and when I get something more passable I will post a photo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 3:34 pm

    Great! Looking forward to pics!

    Like

  2. December 6, 2009 4:05 pm

    Turning a heel is hard enough when you’re knitting by hand! It’s hard for me to picture a machine being able to do it – but of course I know they can since I’m sitting here wearing machine-made socks right now.

    Looking forward to pics of this!!!

    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

