Skip to content

Sock Bonnet

December 12, 2009

The rather oil smeared sock starting bonnet.   I believe it  is called that because some people draw the bottom closed so it looks more like a little toque.  I cose to leave it open in case I wanted to reach up inside the tube for some reason.  I am oiling the machine a little too much and some of came off on the yarn, but I think it will wash off.  Before I begin a proper project I will clean the machine.  The top is the picot edge and hung hem and it is all done in a mock rib, which is every fourth needle out.  This seems like it will work for this size yarn on this size cylinder.  I used odds and ends of superwash sock yarn I had around and the orange is slightly thinner than the other colours.  On to practice heels.

Weaving proceeding slowly and will post that after Christmas!  😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2009 4:42 pm

    It’s great that the sock machine is working. I really am impressed!

    Glad that weaving is progressing. Slow progress is better than none!!

    I finally have some things off the loom, but since I’m still taking a self-imposed blog break….no pictures yet!

    Sue

    Like

  2. December 13, 2009 4:13 am

    What fun that sock is even if it is just a test piece. I’m sure the oil will come off. I wish I could get my picot edges to look that nice and even. Good luck with the heels!

    Like

  3. December 14, 2009 7:21 am

    About the book, I bought it years ago in MA, both copies. Amazon really would be your best bet unless a local bookstore can get it quickly. Amazon should be able to drop ship, wrapped and everything. I’ve had things sent like that from them fairly regularly.

    Like

  4. December 15, 2009 10:34 am

    This looks great, the circular knitting is really fascinating. Good luck with the heel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

