Skip to content

December Calendar Sample

December 15, 2009

Adapted from Malin Selander by Evely Oldroyd

Warp – 16/2 Cotton used double

Weft – thin – 4/8 cotton, thick  4/8 cotton tripled

Very hard beat!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 9:51 am

    Rep!! Cool….I like how you worked in Christmas colors and themes, or am I not supposed to see wreaths when I look at this?)

    I just wove my first piece of rep and was surprised at what a hard beat I needed. (I was tired and didn’t always get there actually.)

    Do you have plans to make this sample into a finished object?? I am full of questions. I’ll check back later to see if there are answers!

    Sue

    Like

  2. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:55 pm

    Yes – you are supposed see the wreaths or baubles or something like! Glad you did! I think it would make great Christmas placematts – very stiff so would sit on the table well. Probably do a fringe or weave the ends with sewing thread for a nice hem. Had to beat so hard the loom was moving and had to be put back every so often.

    Like

  3. December 16, 2009 4:47 am

    Lovely Evelyn! I have a couple of Main Selander’s books but I need to go take a better look. Love it. They would make great place mats or maybe a long runner for the holiday table! That would be a lot of beating though. 😉
    Rep weave is on my list of things to try in 2010.
    My looms move too. I put little rubber bumpers into my floor in front of the rear legs to keep them from walking on me. With 8 dogs who worries about two tiny holes in the floors at this point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

