Skip to content

M’s & O’s

January 9, 2010

A wool scarf woven using fine 20/2 Swedish wool in a simple two block, 4 shaft pattern.    The warp was light grey, the weft dark grey.  It was sett at 24 epi and woven as a balanced weave.  The fabric  tracked quite a bit, which was a surprise given the fairly tight twist of this yarn, but I like the added dimension.   The edges were threaded for a plain weave border and the ends woven with an inch of plain weave (not a true plain weave, more like a half basket).  This is to avoide the long floats on the edges and forms a nice frame around the whole.  To get a good photo of the pattern and tracking I had to hang it in a window.    I can see nice light window coverings  using this structure in a fine linen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 6:26 pm

    Your Ms and Os looks so different from what I got. I have so much to learn!! I’ve seen in different in two different drafts. Right now I’m in love with Ms and Ws.

    Like

  2. January 22, 2010 2:38 pm

    Nice scarf!

    It is so helpful to me to see different weave structures and their drafts! I’ve seen other work in M’s & O’s, but never realized that’s what it was.

    So many weaving things to try!!!

    Sue

    Like

  3. February 18, 2011 3:55 am

    This is really lovely. I can see the tracking, but only just, and it adds to the overall texture I think! I think I’ll try a block design for M’s and O’s next, and maybe just a single colour warp and contrasting weft.

    Thanks also for your comments re my bag and scarf – you’re right about linen being unusual for a scarf, though I have seen them for sale. It has that very scruffy crumpled linen look, and I thought I’d made a big mistake when it came off the loom all stiff. I don’t think I’ll do many in linen to be honest!

    Clare

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 19, 2011 2:50 pm

      I like the tracking texture as well. There are lots of possibilities with M’s & O’s.

      Like

  4. May 10, 2011 8:33 am

    I came across this picture on your blog a few months ago and loved it so much that I wove curtains for my kitchen and dining room using this pattern! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

