Skip to content

January Calendar Sample

March 7, 2010

Catching up the calendar samples  with January.

This sample is adapted by Gillian Mouat from a Weaver’s Book of 8-Shaft Patterns, Page 77- #301 by Ardis Dobrovolny

Warp and Weft 16/2 mercerized cotton, alternating blue and silver

Sett 36 eip, 12 dent reed, 3 per dent

Picks per inch 26 tensioned

There are still visible reed marks left after a light wet finish on my sample,  so I will wet finish again by soaking for awhile to allow the threads to relax more – that is the idea anyway.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 11:35 am

    That is absolutely gorgeous!

    Like

  2. March 7, 2010 11:42 am

    Oh, I’m going to have to look that one up. Beautiful sample. The minute I saw the woven sample I could see it in shades of green. It reminds me so much of seaweed.

    Like

  3. March 7, 2010 1:05 pm

    This is so lovely, I’d really like to try this some day!

    Like

  4. March 8, 2010 5:55 am

    That is beautifully January – it really does look like shadows in the snow.

    Like

  5. March 8, 2010 6:08 pm

    It boggles my mind how some weavers look sculpted like this. I’m sure one day I will understand, but for now it looks like magic. Lovely~

    Like

  6. April 1, 2010 5:05 pm

    That’s shadow weave, right??

    Lovely!

    I’m having reed mark issues that look so bad on the loom that I’m wondering if I have some kind of threading error or something. I’ll have to blog it and get advice from the wise women in the blogosphere!

    Sue

    Like

  7. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:37 pm

    Yes Sue, it is a shadow weave. I think the softer spun yarns move around more easily in a wet finishing. That is why I will see what a lengthy soak will do for this fine mercerized cotton. I will also agitate it more to help the thread move into place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

