Skip to content

Towels, Socks and Blocks

April 4, 2010

Here is another old tea towel – well used and still some time left. Woven of all cottolin, one of my favourite fibre combinations.

As for blocks, I am still working on my explanation of converting an overshot draft to a profile draft. As I try write this out I am realizing how difficult it is to write articles or books  to help people understand  in a clear, concise way. It is a lot of work! So no explanation from me yet.  (and I did lose one partially done post to my poor connection)

Socks – I continue to crank a few socks, but have had a flu which not debilitating has been slowing me down and then when I thought I was better a muscle spasm in my neck and shoulder  from out of the blue. Almost better now, but not condusive to cranking socks.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 3:24 am

    So sorry you’ve been under the weather and good to hear you are on the mend.
    Neck muscle spasms are darn painful.
    LOVE those socks with their bright toes and heels. Great fun.
    The towel looks great. I have not had a chance to use cottolin a lot, nor linen a lot. The times when I used them I did like them. I have towels slated for future warps and would love to get some cottolin instead of the usual 8/2 cotton.
    Technical writing is hard and I thank you for your work in helping to explain that lovely draft technique

    Like

  2. April 5, 2010 3:45 am

    Those socks would be perfect for Edward the Confessor! I quite fancy a pair myself too. Bright socks make a day considerably better.

    Like

  3. April 5, 2010 6:35 am

    Lovely socks! I also like cottolin, it is a very nice quality. I look forward to your post on draft conversion. I hope you get well soon!

    Like

  4. April 6, 2010 9:19 am

    You must like yellow! So cheerful. I’ve not woven with cottolin, but and glad to hear you like it so well. That’s a good recommendation to give it a try myself sometime.

    Like

  5. April 11, 2010 8:15 pm

    I’m trying to make notes on that towel. It’s so simple and so eye catching. Hope your feeling better soon.

    Like

Leave a comment