Skip to content

Draft conversion to Blocks

April 16, 2010

So here goes, I will try explain how I go about converting an overshot draft to blocks and hope it makes sense and that I haven’t forgotten some vital step in the process.

This overshot draft  has the first three blocks circled.  Overshot blocks overlap, the last and first ends of each block.

Block D – shafts 1 & 4 – twice (red)

Block A – shafts 1 & 2 – once (blue)

Block B is next on shafts 2 & 3

Block C on shafts 3 & 4  and so on


Once I have figured out the block sequence, I can write it like this – a profile draft where each square represents a “block” of multiple ends


Now that I have a profile draft I can substitute each block (represented by one black square) to a threading, in this case a twill where every block will be substituted with 3 ends – that makes the draft 3 times larger.  This profile of 16 blocks will become 48 ends.

Block D x 2  threaded as 10, 11, 12 (I am using a 3-end twill so that on 16 shafts I can thread the edges as a fifth block for a border)

Block A x1, threaded 1,2,3,

Block B x 1, threaded 4,5,6,

Block C x 2, threaded 7,8,9

Block D will be 13,14,15

When I substitute each square of my profile draft with the threading ( here I have  added the fifth block on shafts 13,14,15  at each side for my border ) this is the draft.

Then I add my tie-up and treadling to come up with

Using blocks instead of a full threading allows one to experiment with  arrangements of threading and treadling more easily and see the overall pattern without the distraction of all the individual ends.   Of course a computer program for weave drafting is a huge help and time saver, but it  helps to know the theory behind the moves.   I have used Fiberworks PCW almost as soon as it was out.  For me it was the most logical of the weave software available and the easiest to learn.  I also have ProWeave,  it has features I like for other applications and especially for damask weaving.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 9:47 am

    Thank you for a very interesting post, this is the first time I see an overshot converted to twill.

    Like

  2. April 17, 2010 2:37 am

    Oooh, interesting process and well explained – thanks!

    Like

  3. April 17, 2010 3:22 am

    Oh thank you! I think I even understand it too, so good job with the explanation.
    I have ProWeave and I *REALLY* need to get back to working with it. I get so easily frustrated with computers at times. It’s like I’m speaking English and it’s working in Russian!
    I just checked out the Tent and felt show. Oh MY those are amazing creations. I too wanted to have a try on with a few of them. Heck, an afternoon of dress-up even at my age doesn’t sound far fetched a bit. It got me thinking about what kind of a dress could be designed for a horse back riding, or, more likely, the daily feeding routine. Love the hockey dress details…

    Like

Leave a Reply

