Skip to content

2nd Woven Shibori Scarf

April 19, 2010

I have finally begun working on the  2nd scarf from my woven shibori warp.  I finished weaving it ages ago, but wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with the dyeing of it.   I really wanted to try another Indigo dye vat, but it was too cold to do that outside and inside isn’t an option.

I finally made a decision to use the Procion dyes for the quickness and ease of use.  For the first part of the this scarf I wanted to under-dye the untied scarf, then pull the ties and do the shibori part in a second colour.  For the first colour I used Rust Procion MX and am thinking of a dark Navy for the second part. The green threads are the ties, and will of course be pulled out.

Here is the partially tied scarf – this really is hard on the hands.  I did about half last night and will continue this evening.  I also have a 1/2 yrd. sample bit from the end of the warp. The photo seems a bit dull, the colour is a bit richer.    I didn’t stir the cloth much in the dye pot either, I wasn’t concerned with a splotchy result.

I’m pleased my description of converting to blocks worked for some people.   There are so many beautiful overshot style patterns out there and because overshot is a two shuttle weave I think they tend to be forgotten.   Converting to other structures allows one to use the drafts in another form.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 5:59 am

    I can imagine how hard that is to get a good tight tie for the shibori! I’m sure the effort will be well worth it! The colors should be fantastic.
    I like overshot, but not summer and winter even though they are both two shuttle weaves.
    Go figure. Happy shiboring!

    Like

  2. April 20, 2010 9:47 am

    This looks so very exciting, I’m looking forward to see the result!

    Like

Leave a Reply

