Skip to content

String Heddles

May 15, 2010

I think these are the original shafts with strung heddles from the old rug loom. I understand they are time consuming to thread, but it might be fun to put them back on the loom for the next warp.  Looks like there might be a few repairs necessary.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 11:57 am

    The first time I ever wove (it was rag rugs), I wove with heddles like the ones in the photo. I still have some of them stored in a cupboard, but I haven’t used them for years.

    Like

  2. May 17, 2010 4:04 pm

    It makes me think of “Cat’s in the cradle.”

    Like

  3. May 18, 2010 4:20 am

    Oh my! It makes me think I could get texsolv on there in the time it would take me to sort them out! 😉 Have fun though, can’t wait to see what you come up with for a rug.

    Like

  4. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:40 pm

    There is another set with newer heddles, but the shafts are too long. I could replace the old ones… I have heard they take awhile to thread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

