Skip to content

Inkle Progress?

May 22, 2010

I am still struggling with the inkle weaving.  The weaving itself isn’t a problem, the designing  of an easily readable draft is.

I could of course do a band from an existing design, but I have a task in mind and feel that the band should reflect the design in the bag I am making the band for.  This could take longer than anticipated.

Here are the working side of the sample.  The design is there but subtle.

and the back which is I assume the “right side”.  Some directions say it is easier to work with pushing the pattern threads down so this is what I did.  I am not sure it helps and will try all pick-up instead.  I am also trying to avoid floats longer than two picks so have to figure that out.

This is the sock yarn I dyed in the crock pot.  The effect was interesting.  The outside of the ball (top part in the photo) has dark flecks and narrow stripes where the dye was stronger.  The pattern changes towards the inside the ball the striping becoming wider and less distinct.   This was the pale green originally.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 12:35 am

    I love the pattern of the inkle band! I did a wee bit of inkle weaving in January, and I found it quite difficult to pick the right warp threads and to get a nice shed.

    Like

  2. May 23, 2010 3:19 am

    Gosh, I’m not there yet with inkle weaving. I find the drafts kind of funky in general.
    I think your patterned band looks great though, pretty pattern.
    Hm, that is interesting on the sock yarn. LOL, what I thought of was Wicked Witch of the East socks…the ones that curl up under the house in the movie. My bad.

    Like

  3. May 23, 2010 11:13 am

    I love your inkle band! And the Tweedledee/Tweedledum socks are great! Hard to believe that was once green yarn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

