Skip to content

Possum/merino yarn

June 13, 2010

This last Mother’s Day my son called from New Zealand and asked what would I like him to bring back.  I said if he could find  some Possum Yarn I would make him a scarf.  I get the pleasure of using the possum yarn and he gets the scarf!   I received two balls of a Possum Merino blend and four more of pure merino.    The yarns are soft and luscious and I am looking forward to designing and  weaving a scarf.  This is probably a knitting yarn, but I am sure will work fine for weaving.

The pure merino yarns are a dark green and another earthy brown. The challenge will be to use them together in a scarf.

I recently had a visit with my  good friend and weaver Ilse Leader.  If you are visiting Salt Spring Island on June 19th or 20th, Ilse is having a show of her beautiful orignal woven and knitted garments and accessories.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 9:33 am

    Oh lucky! I’ve eyed possum yarn on and off for a couple of years but have yet to get some. Can’t wait to hear how it weaves up. I’ve heard it makes an extremely warm garment though, perfect for a scarf. If I could find it mixed with something a bit more sturdy than merino I would love to knit a pair of boot socks for cold weather riding, or maybe mittens!
    Nice selection of colors too. Those browns are lovely.

    Like

  2. June 19, 2010 3:13 pm

    Evelyn,

    In answer to your question about the clematis and hydrangea on my blog, I’m sorry that I don’t know the exact names of them. We planted them too…..but didn’t save the tags. The clematis is nothing exotic. It came from Lowe’s or Home Depot. The hydrangea is from a nursery, but it’s the type that most nurseries around here sell. (Not Peegee)

    The possum yarn sounds fun! I could go for some scarf knitting these days. (Everything on my needles is complicated, so I can’t mindlessly knit on the porch.)

    Hope you got to Ilse’s show this weekend. It sounds great!

    Take care!
    Sue

    Like

  3. Susan permalink
    June 26, 2011 7:18 pm

    Possum merino is the best wool I have ever knitted with and it is also fantastic for weaving, but try to use one with 10% nylon for length ways otherwise it can break.

    It gets a wonderful sheen to it, is lightweight and incredibly warm 40% moreso than any other yarn

    Like

Leave a Reply

