Skip to content

2nd Woven Shibori scarf – finally finished

June 19, 2010

I removed the weft shibori ties, then pressed the ends of the scarf to make fringe triming and twisting easier.  Once the fringes were done, I rinsed the scarf in a vinegar bath to neutralize the alkaline indigo bath, then into a second rinse with a small drop of hair conditioner which softens the silk and brings back the shine.

I was surprised to see that even with the pressing and washing the pleats  and holes from the shibori ties remain in the scarf and to me give it a lovely texture.  I love this technique and despite the time consuming nature I will do this again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth Temple permalink
    June 19, 2010 5:57 pm

    That’s lovely work!

    Like

  2. June 20, 2010 3:18 am

    Wow, looks beautiful! I’m surprised too to see it hold the folds and such so well.
    The colors look just perfect for summer, I bet you’ll enjoy wearing it too! 🙂

    Like

  3. June 20, 2010 5:26 am

    Mmmmm, really beautiful. I love the shimmer of the indigo on the silk.

    Like

  4. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:26 am

    Thanks all! I will enjoy wearing it and am looking forward to more indigo dyeing.

    Like

  5. June 21, 2010 10:11 am

    Gorgeous! I love it! I’ve tried woven shibori once, and always intended to get back to it.

    Like

  6. June 24, 2010 10:39 am

    What lovely colours you chose. I have been weaving a few shibori pieces too and I’ve found that the small holes don’t ever go away completly, even with multiple washes. I’ve decided to consider it a design feature!

    Like

Leave a Reply

