Skip to content

Inkle band finished!

June 26, 2010

The end of the warp – the knots in the smooth linen were slipping and I had a few slack warps.  A pin with the warp wrapped around fixed the problem well enough for me to continue.  This is the beginning of the warp where the pins are stuck.  I noticed that as I got nearer the end my beat became a little too tight compared with the beginning.  The motifs aren’t quite even when I compare the first and last parts.

The damask was woven many years ago as a sample which I then made into the little bag.  It has been wating for a band for many years and I will use a button or bead and loop for a closure.

I don’t think I expected myself to finish this project.    Perhaps this time because I had an end use in mind I was more motivated.   Maybe I was also ready for the slower pace of this type of weaving.   I  had lots of help from all the great people on the web weaving inkle and backstrap bands and that made a huge difference as well.  See my previous post for links to some of the great blogs and tutorials.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 2:18 pm

    This is wonderful! The bag is gorgeous. I really wish we could see more pictures of the bag and the texture of the body piece. The band is the perfect match!

    Like

  2. aspinnerweaver permalink
    June 26, 2010 4:16 pm

    That looks great! It must feel good to have the bag completed now.

    Like

  3. June 27, 2010 6:34 am

    It looks great. It makes me want to do some inkle or card weaving.

    Like

  4. June 27, 2010 6:12 pm

    The bag is beautiful! The inkle design looks perfect with the damask. A lovely project.

    Like

  5. June 28, 2010 9:30 am

    Isn’t it great when a project that has been sitting awhile decides to be finished? It looks lovely!

    Like

  6. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    June 28, 2010 1:23 pm

    It is great to have one unfinished project done and useable and am now inspired to continue with the many others waiting! Except I am enjoying the band making so much my mind jumping all over the place looking for more band projects!

    Like

  7. June 28, 2010 8:45 pm

    Your bands are lovely. My friend Amy is an accomplished inkle weaver and I ended up giving her my Schact inkle loom. She teaches and also collects things like inkle looms and spindles. I look longingly at your work and hope I get bitten by the bug one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

