Skip to content

Andean Pebble Weave Progress

July 27, 2010

Warp and weft – a mixture of mercerized cottons of approx. 5/2 weight and crochet cotton, Cronita.  I ust noticed the brown and white are both the opposite twist to the 5/2 weaving cotton yarn.

I think I am doing this correctly and it looks good on both sides.  Without the e-monograph by Laverne Waddington I certainly wouldn’t be this far along or anywhere at all.

One  big error was miscounting as I warped so that I have 21 pattern ends as well as an extra white end.  So to work with the problems I am drafting the patterns I want to use onto a different grid,  which is all good exercise anyway!   This means that some of the patterns don’t centre properly.   The extra ground warp I just have to ignore.   I am weaving this on an inkle loom and it is very easy to work the pattern picks.  I am not sure if i can insert pebble shed heddles in the small space on the inkle, but I don’t think so.

I have three other books which all have directions for Andean Pebble Weave –   Byways in Hand-weaving, Atwater; Inkle Weaving, Helene Bress; and Double Woven Treasures, Cahlander.  I  have not yet deciphered instructions from two of the books, even after having woven the structure with Laverne’s directions.   The Cahlander book I am now beginning to understand somewhat.  I am very glad of Laverne’s clear, logical instructions with proper photos of the steps.

One thing I noticed in the  Bress photos,  the woven structure looks different to what I am weaving.   Is there more than one way to weave this and is that why I cannot make headway with those instructions?    Has anyone else figured out these instructions?

Edit:  I have now been told that there are a number of similar looking weaves that have the name “pebble” in them, but they are quite disimilar in the way they are woven.  Yeh!  I am not going crazy trying to make apples and oranges the same.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    July 27, 2010 5:00 pm

    Absolutely stunning. Makes me want to learn to do this.

    Like

  2. July 27, 2010 8:24 pm

    Inkle weave is over my head at this point. In fact, I gave my inkle loom to Amy, however, if there’s one thing I’ve learned in fiber arts, it’s never to say never. That came home to roost after I said that I’d never knit socks. Absurd! I said. I remember exactly the place and time I said it too.

    Like

  3. July 29, 2010 3:26 am

    Oh it’s BEAUTIFUL Evelyn, looks very well done.

    Like

  4. August 1, 2010 11:19 am

    This is very beautiful! I love the pattern and the colors!

    Like

  5. August 5, 2010 5:15 am

    Nice! Good to see an inkle loom in use. Perhaps I’ll actually try mine some day!

    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

