Skip to content

If the Blue Jeans still fit…

August 3, 2010

I mend them.

My mother arrives  – “I see you are wearing your favourites again…” .  Is there a sarcastic tone in the voice?  😉    Well I do find it hard to find new jeans and the worn ones are so comfy.    I go looking for another pair of the same and find they have discontinued them.   So I take the really totally worn, torn ones that belonged to my sons and use them to re-create mine.   I am told (by my sons)   this is the fashion anyway.  And now I am finding out new things about the making of blue jeans (yes, I am a little behind the news – no t.v.) .

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/04/26/china.denim.water.pollution/index.html

So I will keep mending my old ones, find second-hand ones if I can and being a weaver I have the option of making my own cloth and sewing a pair of trousers as Cally did. (and no doubt many others)

Once they are really beyond mending, I could also weave blue jean rugs  as Sharon is doing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 9:14 am

    Ah…but they do look so comfortable!

    Like

  2. August 4, 2010 2:37 pm

    Comfy clothes are well worth the effort!!! I know just what you mean, as I have favorite walking shoes that I should have bought two pairs of, but by the time I wear them out, the stores won’t have them anymore. Darn it.

    Like

  3. August 5, 2010 6:53 am

    How about a bit of sashiko on those patches while you’re at it? Fits with the indigo theme…

    Like

  4. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    August 6, 2010 9:30 am

    Sashiko – great idea – I could work on patches ahead of time 😉 But then I might not want to use them on the jeans.

    Like

  5. August 6, 2010 7:53 pm

    That was a huge fad in the 70s – mending jeans until there was absolutely nothing left to stick a patch to, only I did the patches by hand, folding the edges under and whipping them in place. I’d forgotten completely about that.

    Like

  6. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    August 7, 2010 5:44 am

    Hemming the patches! I remember that too – I kinda like the fuzzy look now. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

