Skip to content

Dyeing Safely

September 5, 2010

A great site with excellent reminders about dyeing safely.

http://oklahomatinctoria.blogspot.com/2010/03/safety-bits.html

The Rudbeckia flowers didn’t do much, although I think the colour might be a little warmer?   I took the photos at the same time of day in the same type of light, though I can see one is closer than the other so this isn’t very accurate.  And no I didn’t keep a sample to show the difference accurately, but it doesn’t look like there is much anyway.

Sharon asked me what my plans are for all this dyed yarn and so far I don’t have any plans.  I guess when I am done experimenting I will take stock and see what colours I end up with and what there might be enough for.   So far all the dyestuff I have used is giving me beiges, browns, yellows and greeny yellows.  More experimenting is needed to get some darker and brighter colours.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 8:05 am

    I like the subtleness of the colors. I rarely have plans for my handdyed yarn either – I consider the dyed fiber a finished object all on its own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

