Skip to content

Moose

September 7, 2010
tags:

If I hadn’t taken photos I would think I had been dreaming.  In some parts of Canada this isn’t so unusual, but I have never seen them here, a short walk from the house.

The scale  doesn’t show very well, they were very large.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 10:34 am

    Evenlyn, what a gift to not only see them, but have your camera with you! Scale? I don’t know, they’re in tall grass and it’s not even up to their knees. I need to get into the habit of taking my camera with me everywhere. About 3 weeks ago I saw a gray wolf standing in our road, about 1/3 mile from my home, and no camera!

    Like

  2. September 7, 2010 12:58 pm

    And they are very large! Gosh I think they reach close to 7 feet at the shoulders and the bulls can go as high as 1600 pounds. Quite common in Maine and VT, but I’m always surprised they aren’t here in OR. I was gobsmacked the first time I ever saw one and even pictures have almost the same reaction and yours are GREAT pictures! Nice to see them at just the right distance too. Not too close! What a magical sighting.

    Like

  3. September 8, 2010 12:28 pm

    Great photography! I guess there are moose here in Idaho, but I’ve never seen one….

    Like

  4. September 17, 2010 7:17 pm

    I’ve only seen them when we would visit my brother, and only once did I see them that close up. Your pictures bring back fond memories.

    Like

  5. September 21, 2010 4:59 pm

    What a sight! I’ve never seen moose anywhere but in a zoo. They look so grand running in the wild.

    Like

Leave a Reply

