Skip to content

Lichen dyeing – the result

October 29, 2010

Dry and Wet

I am pretty pleased (stunned more like!)  with the result even though it isn’t my favourite colour.   I will find a use for it no doubt.

Another skein is ready for the bath which still a very dark colour.  This is an amazing resource – so little needed and gives such alot.

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 6:42 am

    That’s a truly amazing colour – not at all the sort of thing people would think of as naturally dyed, at all! Any idea what weight of lichen you originally used, and what weight of fibre it’s likely to dye??

    Like

  2. October 29, 2010 6:52 am

    That is pretty stunning! Lichens – who knew?

    Like

  3. October 29, 2010 6:59 am

    That is stunning – no wonder they were worth so much in times gone by! Are you able to collect lichen where you are? Ours are protected.

    Like

  4. RuTemple permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:05 am

    That’s gorgeous!

    Like

  5. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:32 am

    I think I have the weight written down somewhere…. but it was a very small amount – perhaps 1 gram as just fit in the palm of my hand and this is a 100 gm. skein of silk.

    I am collecting on my own property, but haven’t actually checked if they are protected or not! Will do so now – thanks for the reminder. I was very careful to take just the loose leafy bit and left the “stem”attached to the rocks.

    Like

  6. October 29, 2010 10:15 am

    I like purple!!!!!

    Like

  7. October 29, 2010 12:17 pm

    An amazingly bright natural dyed color and will make a wonderful accent color in your weaving (or however you choose to use it).

    Like

  8. October 29, 2010 1:55 pm

    What an amazing color for a natural dye!! Do you happen to know what kind of lichen it is?

    Like

  9. October 30, 2010 3:40 am

    gorgeous color. if you don’t like them we could come to an arrangement 🙂

    Like

  10. skimpysmom permalink
    October 30, 2010 1:23 pm

    OOh my! what a beautiful color!!
    do you have a pic of the lichen you used? i’ve got several different kind in the woods behind the house.I’m getting really interrested in them after seeing those colors!I thought they make only drab, browns or greens.

    Like

  11. October 31, 2010 11:20 am

    That is an amazing color – I love it. Maybe you could submit the picture to some lichen genius to id.

    Like

  12. melissa lampman permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:25 am

    wow!Hi I live on Hornby island!Thats a great result.I am just fermenting jars of lichen right know,I hope a am as successful!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      March 6, 2011 5:37 pm

      looking forward to your results melissa!

      Like

Leave a Reply

