Skip to content

What Type of Lichen?

October 30, 2010
tags: ,

I have had a few people ask which lichen this is.   I have no idea, so here are some photos.  I have searched online, but I don’t want to guess.    These photos were taken last winter and the lichen doesn’t seem to change  much  during the year,  except to maybe get a bit softer and slightly greener  with higher humidity.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 6:50 pm

    That looks like what I have! And I actually identified it with the help of a natural dying friend, who took a class on lichenology. Darned if I know where that papers are. If I find them, I’ll let you know.

    I’m very excited to see the color you got from it. I’ve collected a bucketful. Must try this soon!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      October 31, 2010 6:34 am

      I hope you find your notes! You only need such a small amount of whatever this one is. I think there are ways of testing lichens to see if they will give the reddish colours – a drop of ammonia or bleach on a piece of lichen?

      Like

Leave a Reply

