Skip to content

Fly Shuttle springs

November 9, 2010

A couple of years ago I found this article about attaching springs to the cords of the fly shuttle cord.   I think it was also discussed on the Yahoo list WeaveTech.  The springs act as a sort of shock absorber softening off the hard snap at the end of pulling the fly shuttle across.  Most of my warps were for scarves which were narrow and I had never taken the time to add springs  because I hardly ever used it. (I could have offsett the warp in one direction to make use of the fly shuttle, but just didn’t)     Now it has become somewhat painful to use regular shuttles for any length of time.  My hands, wrists and elbows aren’t liking weaving as much as I do.   So I have begun to use the fly shuttle and have added some springs.  The local hardware store only had one spring in stock of the size I was looking for so I compromised and bought shorter ones.  I was impatient to give this a try once I decided to.    Because this was a test I didn’t want to cut the cord so looped it through one end of the spring and taped it.  The other end is slipped over the cord. These are about 1/2 as long as recommended by Katherine Regier.

I think the test is working and properly installed will be even better.   I can weave using the fly shuttle for longer periods of time and it has far less impact on my hands than weaving with a hand shuttle.

What do you do to help your body weave longer with less physical stress?

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 3:21 am

    Oh that’s a pretty nifty idea! I’ve never used a fly shuttle but some day…..
    BTW, your colors of October were breathtaking. Such a beautiful place and time of year.

    Like

  2. November 12, 2010 8:46 pm

    I’m afraid I don’t have fly shuttles. I love what they do for selvedges but the shuttles, perns and winder just aren’t in my budget. Lucky you. Enjoy yours!

    Like

  3. November 13, 2010 3:37 pm

    What a great idea to make your own fly shuttle. I’ve seen one used when we were visiting a professional weaver who worked in Berea, Kentucky, but I don’t have one. I know just what you mean about wrist/arm/shoulder problems, as I’ve struggled with that myself. I find I have to alternate activities, so I can’t spend too much time doing the same motion or I pay for it the next day! I can only spin for so long and then my hands protest. The same with knitting, which really is hard to accept 😦

    Sorry to hear that you have the same struggles….

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      November 18, 2010 3:42 pm

      Judy, I didn’t make the fly shuttle – wish I had those skills though. I just am adding springs to one to make it more user friendly. As you say the hands protest and I think we all need to be careful of them.

      Like

  4. November 17, 2010 10:40 am

    Wow, your own fly shuttle. I saw a demo of this at the Grove Park Inn weaving museum (Asheville, NC). Man, but could that guy make that thing fly. I see how they got their name!

    Like

Leave a Reply

