Skip to content

December and Fabric

December 15, 2010

A shawl from another part of the world found  at a yard sale (love those yard sales!).   The seller had purchased this for his mother about 30 yrs. ago in India.  He couldn’t remember what part of India.  It looks like silk, with a metallic brocade.  I am not sure how to clean this so haven’t cleaned or pressed it nad  it is a bit wrinkled.

The side border – photo turned.

December – a mix of snow and rain.  A few days ago the snow was heavy and wet and now melting and falling off in big clumps and thuds as it hits the ground.

The lilac covered in fresh snow about 4 days ago.  Nothing left on it now!

Mullien or velvet plant.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 6:57 am

    Evelyn, don’t try putting it in water, trust me, I have three very similar and one I ruined trying to clean. I would take it down to the drycleaners, although I hate to suggest it, it might be the only solution.

    Oh we have tons of mullien plants. The woodpeckers love them in the fall. I often see them swaying away with one picking the seeds out. More snow for us. I’ll be happy when the temps get back down below freezing and then stay there.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      December 16, 2010 6:21 am

      Thanks for the hint about not washing!
      I think there are so many mullien plants out there the birds don’t bother coming in to the feeders!

      Like

  2. December 16, 2010 3:37 am

    That shawl is a wonderful find! Doesn’t look to be in too bad of shape. Lovely snow photos too. Actually, I know mullein is considered a “weed” but I really do need to grow some.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      December 16, 2010 6:22 am

      I think mullien is considered a weed, but it is pretty and the birds love it right now. What will you be using it for?

      Like

  3. December 19, 2010 9:29 pm

    The shawl is beautiful and what a great find! Mullein is a useful weed indeed. The dried roots and leaves are used. One of my herbal books shows that there are several uses for mullein (I would recommend a good herbal reference book ,or handy expert, before anyone uses the herb for the first time). Can be made into an emollient salve, and leaf tea used for mild sore throat, coughing, and raspiness. I have a small library of herbal books and love to read about them. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to pull one off the shelf!
    I know there are other uses so would be interested in what Leigh is using hers for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

