Skip to content

Awesome Old Weaving Drafts

January 16, 2011

I decided to weave this great old draft for Christmas gift towels.   I had seen it years ago (1985 Handwoven Magazine), but had never used this draft myself.   I do have the magazine, packed away somewhere, but had read somewhere that the original draft was from A Handweaver’s Pattern Book.   It wasn’t that difficult to find what I thought was probably the draft I was looking for and then found a second similar one.  I think it is the Huck Blocks draft that was made popular in Handwoven magazine years ago.

Huck-A-Back Blocks, page 82  and Caroline Halvorson’s No. 30, page 44, of A Handweaver’s Pattern Book by Marguerite Porter Davison create the same type of fabric.  Common to both drafts  are two repeat sections, both made up of small blocks.     The  blocks in #30  are not  balanced  and the  long floats have 2 less ends.     I prefer the way draft CH #30 is written (easier to remember the threading ) and using this draft I extended the large repeat and balanced each section to give the same effect as the Huck blocks draft.

One  warp was woven using the draft with the long floats, but  shortened the treadling repeat to  three floats instead of four.    As well as the  design which creates the stripe effect,  I wove a sequence creating blocks.

On the left is the  towel with  longish floats of 7 threads.  On the right a sample with 5 thread floats.    This towel has a slightly firmer  hand than the one with larger floats.   Both warps were 22/2 swedish cottolin, white warp, various coloured wefts.   The  right side beige sample  is woven with mercerized 10/2 UKI cotton.

I think I wouldn’t mind some of these towels for my own kitchen. 😉

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 5:46 am

    I think I wouldn’t mind a few of those in my kitchen either! I’ll have to check out those patterns. Beautiful towels beautifully woven. Love the pattern between the blocks too.

    Like

  2. January 16, 2011 9:15 am

    I was laying in bed this morning, thinking this would be a good time to pull my LeClerc out from it’s stashed play in the dormer and warp it for towels. I love yours and will take a look at those patterns – thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. January 16, 2011 10:50 am

    I have woven dozens of towels in the original Handwoven pattern! The remains of the last warp is still threaded on my loom. I laughed when I saw your photo…and then looked closer and saw the slight differences in your version and the variations. They will dry dishes just as well anyhow!

    I need to tie on a new warp some day very soon. I keep saying that, don’t I?

    Like

  4. January 16, 2011 11:36 am

    Beautiful, Evelyn. Those huck patterns are wonderful. I wove one, too, from an old issue of Handwoven (currently on my blog), which had the pattern in “stripes.” After one towel I started playing with the treadling and came up with a variation I liked, then woven a couple towels and runners. After my next warp, hope to warp up for it again, it’s a favorite, and my last runner was purchased at a small art fair a couple years ago.

    Like

  5. January 16, 2011 12:03 pm

    I,too have woven several warps with the old Handwoven draft. If you are interested in old drafts have a look at my blog http://www.onesmallstitch.wordpress.com under “traditions” (only a couple of days ago) the Finnish pattern book pictured is amazing but the drafts are difficult to read.

    Like

  6. January 19, 2011 7:12 am

    I like the design that you chose and how you set it up. Hand woven kitchen towels are just wonderful to have because of the uniqueness and the wonderful feel. Nice!!

    Like

  7. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    January 19, 2011 8:36 am

    It is a such a great pattern I can see why it has been woven by so many people! I see references to it in various places. Now I want to try some of the other treadlings and will have to put on a long warp for sampling.
    Louisa – do you think it is that different? I still haven’t found my old handwoven magazine to compare.
    Jean – great to hear from you! I love old weaving texts as well and have a number of old Swedish books. No matter that the text is in Swedish, the drafts can be figured out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

