Skip to content

More Tea Towels – Maltese Cross

January 19, 2011

Here is another set of towels woven as Christmas gifts, but I forgot to take photos of the finished towels. I will have to ask the recipients to send me a photo or two. 😉   They are similar to other towels I have woven converting overshot drafts to three-end turned twill.

One version of Maltese Cross converted to a three-end turned twill.  The 4-shaft draft in three-end twill uses 12 shafts and a border  another 3 for a total of 15 shafts.  I once wove towels using this method, but not turning the alternating blocks resulting in a  towel skewed slightly on the bias.

Each side has a slightly different emphasis, one being a bit lighter than the other.      The hem fold line is between the warp and weft emphasis side of the twill.  When turned the hem matches the other side of the towel.

Alternate treadlings  have lots of stripe and block possibilities.

Woven with an 8/2 cotton warp,  22/2 swedish cottolin wefts in various colours.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 5:31 pm

    If I had to pick a favorite I couldn’t decide. I have to say that I really like that alternate treadling. Makes my mind start thinking about color possibilities!

    Like

  2. January 20, 2011 3:22 am

    Oh dang there are no pics of the finished towels. I rather like the alternate treadling myself. Looks quite…scandinavian/clean/modern in design. 15 shafts…hmm. What loom are you using?

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      January 20, 2011 9:05 am

      Theresa – I have a 16shaft AVL. Will post pics when I get them. I stuck with the traditional treadling for this set of towels, but like the blockier designs as well. Did you see that Sandra Rude did some beautiful towels using blocks of 5end satin on a 24 shaft loom.

      Like

  3. January 20, 2011 2:10 pm

    Sounds like I’m in the minority, loving the less blocky versions of this (and most) designs.

    I still haven’t figured out my weird problem of vertical lines appearing in my latest sample….and I wonder if the draft I’m using is supposed to be overshot. Hmmm…. (Not that my commenting here means you have to think about my towels…..just that I’m thinking about them!)

    Hope we do get to see pics of the finished towels! It’s always tough to get everything photographed before sending it on its way!

    Sue

    Like

  4. January 21, 2011 7:04 am

    I love the Maltese Cross pattern! Years ago I wove a table runner using that draft and it’s one of my favorite overshot patterns that I’ve done. I’d like to see photos of your finished towels!!

    Have a great weekend,
    Judy

    Like

Leave a Reply

