Skip to content

Extended Crackle Weaves

January 31, 2011

Last fall when I began to make a few tea towels as gifts, I decided to try a Ralph Griswold extended crackle draft.    I love the texture of crackle weave and thought it would make a great towel.  To keep things simple (I was in a rush)  I would use a one colour warp and  various weft colours for each towel.  I could play at the computer with drafts and colour for hours and not get around to weaving anything.   The draft I chose looked like it might produce a nice grid like pattern of lights and darks with a nice  texture to give some interest to the fabric.  Being a tea towel warp I just went ahead with a full size warp, figuring the first towel would be the sample.   I wove one towel, cut it off, washed it and didn’t think it was very interesting at all.  I resleyed the warp.   It wasn’t a total loss as I do have the one towel which does have a nice texture even if I don’t like the other aspects  of it.   I used 8/2 cotton for the warp at 20 epi with the same for weft.   I might try this again using a heavier warp such as 6/2 cotton to  bring out the texture of the weave and weave it all one colour.    That might also sound boring to some, but to me sometimes  cloth just looks better without the confusion of colour.

Draft #53717

Title:    Extended Crackle Weaves
Author:    Ralph E. Griswold
Date:    2005
Description:    More Beautiful Algorithmically Generated Crackle Weaves, some of which have longer floats than traditional crackles.

4 ends for plain weave edges added

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 3:15 am

    I can see why you might go for the one-colour option as there is so much going on in the patterning. I do like the variation in texture very much.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 1, 2011 7:20 am

      Of course once I said plain might be better I am thinking a coloured end at key points might enhance the structure…

      Like

  2. February 1, 2011 3:16 am

    I’m wondering if linen weft might provide crisper pattern detail. I too find cotton often times softens the patterns once washed. Maybe a 5/2 pearl cotton? It is a lovely pattern though. I have never done a crackle weave. I’m wondering if it would be suitable for my white only weaving by providing interesting texture.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 1, 2011 7:23 am

      I think you are right about the linen being crisper and showing the texture. Crackle is a great weave structure and can be woven so many ways.

      Like

  3. February 2, 2011 7:44 am

    I’ve never woven a crackle design before so it was interesting to see your towel. I agree with you, maybe one color would make the focus shift to the design, but your towel has wonderful texture. I’m curious to see the difference when you weave another towel with the heavier yarn. I’m going to get my weaving books out this morning and look over the crackle drafts. I always just skip over them for some reason….

    Like

Leave a Reply

