Skip to content

Plaited Twill

February 26, 2011

Silk noil fleck weft on a mercerized cotton warp.  5 1/2 metres ong, 35cm wide.  Woven 2003.

Threading derived from a 4 shaft name draft (my name) converted in a weaving program using a double-two-tie system.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 5:01 pm

    Pretty! Subtle!

    How was the threading derived from a name draft? Did you use it to determine block size or something?

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 27, 2011 5:49 am

      I began by making a name draft using the weaving program – it creates a 4shaft overshot type. I then did a block substitution with a double -two-tie as the choice and this is what it created!

      Like

  2. February 27, 2011 3:49 am

    Oh love love the white on white. Beautiful twill Evelyn. Inspiration for sure!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 27, 2011 5:52 am

      I like the plain colour – the silk is sort of creamy grey with little dark slubs. Room for embellishment with the plain cloth.

      Like

  3. February 28, 2011 7:47 am

    i too like white on white.
    when you find part 2 of the vid please let me know.
    i’m going to try and push the color another shade up (^_^)

    Like

  4. amy permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:24 am

    really lovely! I can almost feel it through the monitor.

    Like

  5. March 2, 2011 1:59 pm

    I really like the combination of yarns that you chose! The silk, with its shimmer and sheen just makes the fabric sing. Nice choice!

    Like

  6. March 2, 2011 2:01 pm

    Oh, and I forgot to mention, you were right about the snow. We’ve had at least a foot of fresh powder, so the skiing can continue 🙂 Not that I’m hooked to it or anything….

    Like

  7. March 2, 2011 2:18 pm

    Oh me, oh my. I love the texture! What a beautiful picture too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

