Skip to content

HandSpinning Cotton

April 6, 2011

I bought my first brass spindle around 1996  and have been spinning  Fox Fiber natural colour cotton since.  This is green which is greener than the photo shows.

The little wooden bowl I use for a support was turned by a friend and I don’t remember what wood it is.

My slowly growing stash of handspun cotton which is very thick and thin – especially the first attempts.

 

When I have finished spinning all that I have (lots more!) I will decide if I can use it as a singles or if it needs to be plied and what to weave.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 3:19 am

    Lovely, Evelyn! I love the natural colors. Your spinning is looks good too!

    Like

  2. April 8, 2011 2:53 am

    Evelyn, it looks hard to spin but what a lovely job you’ve done. I love Foxfiber cotton. Years ago I had sheets in it that darkened over time to a beautiful deep earthy rust color much like your browns. I have some yarn in it, that I use in my annual Greenspring Fire & Rescue donation towels. I’ve seen the green and it is such a beautiful color but I’ve never gotten my hands on some of it.

    Like

  3. April 8, 2011 8:18 am

    I am impressed. I genuflect in your general direction. I have a gorgeous little takli that I use as decor – have never had the wherewithal to spin cotton. You are a goddess.

    Like

  4. April 10, 2011 10:05 am

    Wow, what a nice job of spinning cotton! I’ve never tried it, but I’m curious about it. I love the soft colors of the cotton that you are using. It should be fun to use these yarns in your weaving, whatever design you decide on.

    Enjoy your weekend, Evelyn!

    Like

  5. April 10, 2011 12:22 pm

    What they said! I’m really impressed with all that spinning, not to mention the lovely fibre tools you are using. The natural colours of the cotton are stunning. I especially like the rusty brown which seems very rich and a nice complement to the spindle!

    Like

  6. ladyoftheloom permalink
    April 10, 2011 5:15 pm

    I am a spinner but never have mastered cotton. I am impressed and jealous of your skill!

    Like

  7. April 12, 2011 4:57 am

    lovely yarns you’ve created. you’re not helping much as i’m doing my best in resisting to take up spinning 🙂

    Like

  8. April 12, 2011 4:58 am

    mortified by the poor grammar. meant resisting taking up!

    Like

  9. April 16, 2011 8:26 pm

    The yarns are wonderful. I can see why you want to carefully consider how to use them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

