Skip to content

Tablet weaving

April 30, 2011

My progress so far with the tablet weaving has been slow.     It really didn’t take a week to weave these two pieces, but all the mistakes in between take up time and warp.    Then there is all the reading about tablet weaving before one actually picks up the shuttle.   Once I began weaving there were many ah-ha moments with some  pieces of the puzzle that is tablet weaving falling into place.  It looks like such a simple process, but as I read more I can see it can become very complicated indeed.   Following pattern directions is easy enough, understanding this is more complex than I imagined.

For the first sample  I followed the charts and instructions from a Linda Hendrickson   article  in Weaver’s,  Spring 1997 magazine and also  available online.   I think my sample was a little elongated compared to the magazine photo.  (there is some distortion in the photo due to the camera angle)

The second piece was a chart from Guntram’s Tabletweaving Page.   My edges suffered a little when I mixed up my directions and had to undo and redo a few picks.

I found that weighting the selvedges separately made life much easier.  There is a lot of twist buildup from turning  the edge cards in one direction to make a smoother edge.    This was of course after I broke two threads from overtwisting having ignored all the expert advise.   With double-faced tablet weaving errors show easily, going backwards though I found myself getting very  mixed up with turnings.

Yarn – 5/2 mercerized cotton from UKI black and copper.  The black yarn became quite fuzzy and shed  and there was excess dye smudging the pieces which I think will wash out.

The next challenge is deciding which type of pattern to try after I finish this warp.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 6:38 am

    These look great! There are definitely some advantages to having other weaving background; you’ve got a very even beat and nice selvedges.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      April 30, 2011 8:40 am

      Thanks Michael! From you that is praise indeed as Louisa says!

      Like

  2. April 30, 2011 7:31 am

    Praise from Michael is praise indeed! Very nice, Evelyn! I love how tabletweaving is both easier and harder than it looks. It drove me nuts when I tried to teach it! Linda makes it pretty easy to get started though – as you’ve discovered.

    If you have some, a simmer with a little Synthrapol will help get the dye stains out.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      April 30, 2011 8:41 am

      Thank you! that is a perfect description – easier and harder than it seems. I do have Synthrapol, thanks – (hate the smell of that stuff , but might have to use it anyway)

      Like

  3. May 1, 2011 8:05 am

    Great patterns and a really nice colour scheme – dye problems notwithstanding. You’re made of stronger stuff than I am: even the simplests tablet-weaving makes me feel overwhelmed.

    Like

  4. May 1, 2011 5:57 pm

    The results are fantastic – it’s hard to believe you’re just learning. And I thought inkle weaving was overwhelming!

    Like

  5. May 3, 2011 12:17 pm

    Beautiful!! Are you sure you haven’t done this before?
    ~Annie

    Like

  6. May 4, 2011 7:00 am

    Thanks for walking us through the process of tablet weaving. It sounds like an interesting project and your weaving looks great, as usual. I like the contrast of the colors that you are working with. I’m looking forward to hearing more.

    Like

  7. May 21, 2011 3:11 am

    I’ve done a tiny bit of tablet weaving – enough to know that it is CHALLENGING! Set it down for a few weeks, and you have absolutely no idea where you are – at least I didn’t.

    You’re apologizing for those selvedges? No way – they’re beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

