Skip to content

Textiles and garage sales

June 14, 2011

I have enjoyed garage sales, flea markets, antique markets, boot sales for many years.  There are many treasures to be found and being a weaver I have always looked at the textiles.   My find last week was in the “free” box.  A lovely linen  Damask and Huck hand towel with painted flowers and hemstitching.  There is one tiny hole  which looks like a flaw and easily mended as well as a small rust stain probably from storage.   It is in very good condition otherwise and is so crisp it seems barely used.   I find it sad that someone would throw away a lovely piece like this for two small and easily fixed flaws.

Click photo  to enlarge.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 9:40 am

    That is a sweet piece of linen!

    When we visit antique stores, I always head for the linen box or basket and have found some great treasures over the years, usually for a dollar or less. The trouble is, today’s homes don’t really use linens like this anymore so what to do with them? Sadly it seems the ‘Day of the Doilie’ is done…

    Runners and such are fine which is great for us weavers!

    Susan

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 15, 2011 4:10 pm

      I still have “doilies” from my aunts and grandmothers and now use them as plate separators for good china! I get to enjoy them and they are used though maybe not for their intended purpose!

      Like

  2. lorjacks3212 permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:41 am

    Gotta love yard sales!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 15, 2011 4:34 pm

      Love all the names for them as well – yard, garage, boot, flea…..

      Like

  3. June 14, 2011 4:40 pm

    What a find indeed! It’s a beautiful piece. So sad someone would discard it like that but so fortunate someone like you came along to rescue it.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 15, 2011 4:13 pm

      I have a great collection of small hand-towels – can’t stop myself when I see them – both the quality and the interesting weaves.

      Like

  4. June 15, 2011 6:28 am

    Oh Evelyn,we are two peas in a pod.
    I too am a linen crazy and wonder how people can throw these beautiful bits away. At least it gives we that admire them, a chance to honour the work. I will send you pics of recent found flax finds!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 15, 2011 4:14 pm

      Looking forward to the flax find pics Leola! Linen is like a magnet!

      Like

  5. June 15, 2011 7:45 am

    I love estate sales too, and I’m just delighted when I find something handmade. What a wonderful find! I’m glad that you brought it home to enjoy it.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 15, 2011 4:34 pm

      Finding a piece of quality is great. I have a great collection already, but can’t help myself!

      Like

  6. September 6, 2011 7:57 am

    That is a lovely piece. I am a collector of old handwork too, and have even found some handwoven with embroidered, tatted, or crocheted embellishment. Sadly, a large box of them was “lost” on one of my moves, but I still have some, including beautiful pieces made by my grandmothers. I grew up in a family where everyone (many of the men too) did needlework of some sort; everyone did some sort of traditional craft, and much of it was necessity. I love finding old pieces: holding them gives me a sense of the hands and the creative minds that made them. A connection not only to my own family but the long tradition of handwork, handed down generation to generation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

