Skip to content

Scarlet Gilia

June 15, 2011

No weaving here  – I have been busy with the continuing project of improving and selling my house.  The basement was an area I hadn’t tackled and  was in need.    The walls hadn’t been painted in many years (90?)   – I am sure the previous owner never had even cleaned it.    The concrete floors were just dusty concrete as were the  “new” basement stairs.     It is amazing what a coat of paint will do to brighten and clean what is basically a furnace room and storage area.  The  foundation walls of stone with a filling of lime mortar are now white and the concrete floors are painted grey.   The basement now looks more ? –  not sure of the word to use, but at least less like a dusty basement and more like a clean useable room.   This house was built in 1919  (the mason that built the house and chimney inserted a date plaque) with a stone foundation and brick walls. The house is,  for this area,  what many might consider a heritage house.    It had undergone a few questionable renovations since it was built – which I had removed or improved upon so as to work with the original structure.

On my walks the last few evenings this native wildflower has begun to bloom.   Louisa reminded me about researching the “correct” names of wildflowers which isn’t difficult to do with wildflower books and internet access  – thanks Louisa!

Scarlet Gilia  – Ipomopsis aggregata    a link  the E-Flora Photo Gallery where I  do ocasionally post photos of native wildflowers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 8:08 pm

    Oh my goodness. I hope you’re not moving far! I hope to never move again – ever.

    Like

  2. June 16, 2011 7:59 am

    moving is such an emotional roller coaster along with all the energy required – be well, Evelyn. Hope the new location makes it all worthwhile. Lovely Scarlet Gilia

    Like

  3. June 16, 2011 9:02 am

    Beautiful, hard to believe they’re wildflowers.

    Best of luck with the selling. When we were selling, I did all these things to make the house look better. It looked pretty good when we put it on the market. I often wonder why I didn’t go ahead and do them earlier, when I would have had a chance to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

    Like

  4. June 17, 2011 2:54 am

    You’re moving? Did I miss something? I certainly couldn’t miss that firecracker of a beautiful flower! Great picture. Wish they grew around here. Then of course the horses would likely nip them off or the goats……
    Best with the packing and sorting and shedding of layers for the move.

    Like

  5. June 23, 2011 2:38 pm

    So pretty! Just don’t ask me to actually *remember* the latin names of plants, ok? 😀

    Hope your move goes without a hitch!

    Like

  6. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    June 24, 2011 4:07 pm

    Thanks all for the wishes – but can’t move until I sell!

    Like

Leave a Reply

