Skip to content

Sagebrush Mariposa Lily

July 29, 2011

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calochortus_macrocarpus

Last year I didn’t find any Mariposa Lilies – this year the hillside is covered!  The cool wet spring and early summer has been good for these delicate flowers.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 1:51 am

    Oh how beautiful…and familiar! We have some similar here..long gone now it’s the end of July, but certainly of the same family if not just alike.

    BTW, I covet your lovely SS shuttle. How pretty.

    Like

  2. July 30, 2011 4:18 pm

    I’ve never seen one, the pattern and colours in the center are beautiful. It’s amazing how exquisitely perfect nature is.

    Like

  3. July 31, 2011 1:29 pm

    I have never seen these before. Beautiful purple!

    Like

  4. August 6, 2011 8:14 pm

    Thanks for sharing the photos of a lovely flower. I bet seeing a hillside of them just brightened your day.

    Like

  5. September 3, 2011 9:12 pm

    I haven’t seen one of these pretty little lilies for so many years – thanks for the memories – I have your picture of the bird bills (at least that’s what we called them) on my computer at work so it comes up all the time in my screen saver – such a nice memory of home. T.

    Like

Leave a Reply

