Skip to content

Out Of Our Minds

August 5, 2011

I love the interlibrary loan system in B.C.   One goes online to the B.C. library database to  search  for a book.  if it is in a B.C. library it will come up with a list.   A click brings up a simple form to fill out  and a click sends your request!   Most of the time your book arrives at your local library within a few days checked out for 3 weeks.  I know the system has been around for years, but with online access it is so much better.

I did request a book way back in late June,  then I went away for a few weeks,   got the flu  (or came back bringing it along) and suddenly I received a call from the library telling me my book was here.  Huh?  what book?  I had completely forgotten the request, but the system didn’t and I just received it.  Amazing.   So now I can finish recovering from this nasty flu bug with what I hope is a good read.

I am sure I picked up the link to this book on one of the blogs I check in on.  Not sure now which one – it was awhile ago – so I am sorry I cannot credit anyone.   Anyway – here is a link to the book with various reviews and interviews.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    August 5, 2011 7:23 am

    I can do on-line requests through my local library and I luv the inter-library loan system too!
    Enjoy your book.
    cheers,
    Laura
    who may have to looking for this one, too!

    Like

  2. August 6, 2011 10:15 am

    thanks for the tip, I’ve put it on request.

    Like

  3. August 6, 2011 6:22 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion. I hope that you feel better soon!

    Like

  4. August 6, 2011 10:00 pm

    It was rather magic on the supplying end as well. That was my job for 13 years and it was liking being a book detective. it’s a wonderful system.

    Like

Leave a Reply

