Skip to content

On my walk today

June 4, 2012

I was taking a close up photo of this

Castilleja miniata

 

 

I turned to get a photo from another angle and looked right at this

I believe this young one is an elk calf.  There were many elk prints and other signs in the area.   It was trying very hard to be invisible (difficult for the size!)  and I was stumbling around the area for about 5 mi. taking photos and didn’t see it!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 4:03 pm

    What a dream!! Thanks for posting.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 13, 2012 3:59 pm

      Yes it was a bit dream like – I couldn’t believe my eyes and that I had missed it when I first walked past!

      Like

  2. June 4, 2012 5:22 pm

    Can’t be more than a day old either. What a special surprise!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 13, 2012 3:55 pm

      it was an amazing and special surprise!

      Like

  3. June 5, 2012 5:16 am

    Such a cute little critter! Lucky you didn’t see momma. She might not have been happy about your proximity.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 13, 2012 3:56 pm

      I really moved out of there quickly and snapped photos on the run!

      Like

  4. June 7, 2012 11:59 am

    good to have you back, I was a little worried about you. like Louisa, I’m glad you didn’trun into Mama, what a special treat to see such a little one.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      June 13, 2012 3:57 pm

      Hi Jean – Yes, I have been a bad-blogger!

      Like

  5. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    June 13, 2012 3:58 pm

    Thanks all for stopping by! I must try get back into the habit!

    Like

  6. June 29, 2012 6:36 am

    He does look like he’s trying very hard to be as small as possible. How cute! Thanks for sharing the photo.

    Like

  7. July 12, 2012 10:26 pm

    What a cute little one – yes, my thoughts were on it’s mom too – a once in a lifetime shot though! Glad you’re back. tina

    Like

  8. July 18, 2012 10:06 pm

    OH Evelyn…, I’m so glad it wasn’t a baby Grizzly bear. I would soooo miss your fine photography. Bruce

    Like

Leave a Reply

