Skip to content

Turned Taquete

February 8, 2009

taquete-sample This is the trial sample for the 2006  16’s Complex Weavers exchange.

Warp – 8/2 reeled silk – bright pink  / silk boucle space dyed
Weft – 20/2 Silk
Sett – 24 EPI, Woven – 24 PPI – Repeat – 156 ends,  268 picks

I began my design with a zig-zag type of line and then used the parallel repeat feature of PCW.      I then drew a line for the treadling and added tabbies. I determined the sett based on what would be considered a firm twill for both of the warp yarns.  I  would have preferred to use a 30/2 silk for the weft which gives a nicer hand, as I found in my first sampling, but I didn’t have enough of the colour I liked for the samples so used the heavier silk and mercerized cotton which i had on hand in similar colours.  I found that both the colour and grist of the weft yarn changed the look and feel of the fabric considerably.

The boucle yarn for warp  I had previously dyed myself in pale rainbow colours, but I found that it had a stripey look  which dominated the fabric.  I used Pebeo Setacolor Transparent fabric paint to over-paint the warp ( this was  heat set with an iron before washing the samples).  I was reminded that the parallel threading did not have a true tabby to easily lift the stripey ends,  so   hand picked the boucle onto a stick which I placed behind the heddles and left that in place at the back roller.  To paint  the warp in sections as I wove it forward I turned the pickup stick upright and placed a light piece of plastic covered cardboard under the warp ends, painted and blow dried the damp ends.  I painted the blue on lightly so there is would be some colour variation left.

References used:
Turned Taquete sources:
Bonnie Inouye, EXPLORING MULTISHAFT DESIGN, CHAPTER 8
Nancy Peck, Complex Weavers Journal, 2001 p. 4 “Cross Border Weavers “Focus
on Units’ Project.
Alice Schlein, “Reversible Rug with Network Drafting”, WEAVERS 42, p. 70
Lucille Crighton, “Turned Taquete by Design” WEAVERS 27 page 30
Betsy Blumenthal, “One-Shuttle Wonderful”, Weavers 12, p. 18
Brenda Smith, “Night-Sky Vest”, WEAVERS 39, p. 50.
WEAVERS 33
Weave Tech List Archives:
Letters from Bonnie Inouye, Su Butler, Margaret Coe, Alice Schlein

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 7:48 pm

    Looks like I’m the first to comment on your turned taquete samples and experiences. I have just finished a couple of turned taquete projects and was looking for more references – and, voila, you have them listed. Do you have records on your tie up configuration?

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      September 17, 2011 1:16 am

      Hi Beryl – I do have the drafts – will find it and send it on as soon as i do. Evelyn

      Like

  2. September 17, 2011 1:14 am

    Beryl, I do have the draft and will send it on. Evelyn

    Like

  3. Fran Osten permalink
    December 17, 2011 4:37 pm

    Evelyn,
    Nice surprise to search for turned taquete and have your name pop up! I had been very unhappy with the CW corkscrew sample I did and decided to rip the rest of the none yards I had put on the loom, but first tried weaving it as turned taquete–something I had never done before (I joined 16’s after you had that as a topic) and voila–I love it. I wove off a wonderful shawl with 60/2s silk. Wonderful drape and an ugly duckling has turned into a swan!

    Fran O

    Like

  4. linda compton permalink
    June 25, 2013 5:36 am

    Evelyn,
    I am making my first attempt at turned taquete and I am a new weaver. Would you please send me the drafts you offered to Beryl? Also, do you warp on the warping board as if you were doing doubleweave, 2 threads in one hand? And when you plan your draft do you have to think about 2 colors, one on each side, and that they are different and maybe not rotated the same?
    Thank you.
    Linda

    Like

  5. linda compton permalink
    June 25, 2013 5:47 am

    Is it possible to get a copy of your draft? I am planning my warp right now, but want to be sure I understand how I warp and count my threads before I begin cutting. Thank you.
    Linda

    Like

  6. November 14, 2018 8:45 am

    Why you! want something extremely new? Open and look at this site. Only there the choice of girls for every taste and completely free! They are hardcore slaves, they will and want implement everything you command !
    https://rebrand.ly/governy#D23

    Like

Leave a comment