Skip to content

Temple Stretcher

February 11, 2011

I bought this lovely little metal stretcher  at Convergence Vancouver in 2002.  I have never used it.

The black band cannot slide far enough along to free the arm

I will have to cut the black band off.  There is a mark where I have tried already.  Very tough plastic.   I hope I will be able to find a band of somekind to replace it.

I don’t knit much but while recovering from the flu I managed to knit a pair of slippers.  The yarn was spun at Carstairs Woolen Mills  years ago when I had a few sheep.   The fleece was a Karakul  spun to approximately a  2 ply worsted weight  used double.    The photo shows the fulled and unfulled slippers.  It did full, but took 3 trips through the washer and dryer to get even this much shrinkage.    I used this pattern, but I knit the bottom garter section flat, then joined into a circle when I began the knit rounds.

Thank you for the feedback on the runner pictured  in the previous post.  I wove it as part of the Guild of Canadian Weavers tests many years ago.   More info on the yarn, sett etc. are here.

 

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:07 pm

    I hope you get your temple sorted out. I’m really happy with mine. And the booties are adorable. I love how garter stitch felts for a base like that.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 12, 2011 8:29 am

      I am told by the recipient that the base is very cushy and comfortable. 😉

      Like

  2. February 12, 2011 4:03 am

    Oh bummer, someone made a big booboo with that one! When you get it off, maybe a son can fabricate a simple thinner metal band like the wood ones use. Cute booties!
    I bet that Karakul will wear like iron. Would love to find some yarn around here with it in it.
    Hope you are feeling better, seems to be a really strong strain of flu/cold going around. Mine still lingers a bit itself.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 12, 2011 8:30 am

      You are right Theresa – a metal band would do it – not sure why I have waited so long to fix this…

      Like

  3. February 12, 2011 7:56 am

    You read my mind! I have just been looking for a simple slipper pattern (having accidentally turned a pair of handspun socks into a pair of too-small slippers, I thought I might try and do it on purpose next time). This looks like one I could cope with, though I will need to do the spinning first – I have some grey BFL lined up.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 12, 2011 8:36 am

      Too bad abt. the socks! I cast on 88 stitches for the large size and reduced to 40 at the top in garter stitch instead of the ribbing. It is a really easy pattern and took me two evenings to do one slipper – tired hands.

      Like

  4. February 12, 2011 3:30 pm

    very annoying about the stretcher. thanks for the slipper pattern. the slippers I’m slopping around in are an embarrassment but don’t seem to remenmber anything as mundane as slippers when I’m out shopping. Have lots of handspun, plan to start a pair tonight.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 12, 2011 3:48 pm

      Glad the slipper pattern link is so popular! I think they look good and am told they feel very nice. I am making myself a pair using 76 stitches because my wool is so difficult to felt.

      Like

  5. Stephanie permalink
    February 13, 2011 7:48 am

    This is probably a silly question – I use wooden temples not metal – but from the picture it looks like you can slide the plastic sleeve in the other direction. Have you tried that?
    Best wishes

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 14, 2011 8:06 am

      Stephanie, I had tried everything including sliding off the other end, but that doesn’t work as the pin doesn’t come out then.

      Like

  6. February 15, 2011 7:18 am

    I hope that you are feeling better. Knitting is a great thing to do when you feel under the weather, isn’t it? I have two temples like yours and they are handy to have on hand.

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 19, 2011 2:49 pm

      I hope yours work better than this one!

      Like

  7. February 15, 2011 8:09 am

    I’m assuming there was no way to go back to the vendor about the temple? It shouldn’t be your problem to fix it! Is there a brand name?

    I have several temples but none have the problem you describe. Curious really. Why would they manufacture something that doesn’t work properly?

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 19, 2011 2:48 pm

      2002 – a few years, but I do still have the receipt! I think it might be a Toika – the ones I searched look exactly the same. It is odd that this one got past quality control. 😉

      Like

  8. February 18, 2011 4:28 am

    I got two temples with my loom when I bought it (2nd hand) but I’ve never figured out how to use them and having never used one before, don’t even know if they’re in proper repair!

    Like

    • Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
      February 19, 2011 4:23 pm

      I don’t use them much at all, but when I wanted one this was a disappointment!

      Like

  9. May 4, 2017 6:29 pm

    So true. Honesty and everything reiongczed.

    Like

  10. May 5, 2017 1:30 am

    …ktokolwiek to napisaÅ‚, to dementi byÅ‚o faktem. A potem dementi od dementi. Tutaj chyba mamy peÅ‚nÄ… zgodność, że taka szopka nie jest dobrÄ… wizytówkÄ… “Roepzcospzlitej”. JeÅ›li zrobiÅ‚ do istotnie Hajdarowicz pod naciskami z zewnÄ…trz – to też jest powód do smutku. Z drugiej strony, wchodzÄ…c w sferÄ™ domysłów, to nie wyobrażam sobie, by Hajdarowicz nie wiedziaÅ‚ o materiale Gmyza i o tym, że redakcja zamierza go “puÅ›cić”.

    Like

  11. May 8, 2017 7:38 am

    If you wrote an article about life we’d all reach enlightenment.

    Like

Leave a comment