Skip to content

As the sort continues

February 2, 2009

mexican-hummingbird-damaskI find another piece of damask, this time partly made up into a bag and waiting for me to braid or twist some kind of strap.  A kumihimo pattern sits inside so I guess it was going to be a braid.  Now where is the rest of the yarn I used for the bag?   It is a warp of cream 10/2 mercerized cotton and a weft of brown 16/2 Swedish Line Linen.  Quite heavy for damask, but it suits the purpose.    The motif is a Mexican Hummingbird from an old book I found about Mexican imagery in their art.  I scanned the photo into the computer, then used the weaving computer program Pro-Weave to  make it into a grid to use for the lifting sequence.   Pro-Weave is a great program to use for this purpose.  It lets you print out your pattern  as numbers to read for picking up the units.

No comments yet

Leave a comment